this was august

by 美儀

A new fridge is lots of work. It’s like house moving, but everything is cold. There is a lot of shouting going on as well.

august

August was all about the Olympics. August was about sitting on the couch and gawking at what the human body can do. August was an eye opener. It was also about drowning myself in Delispice & Every Single Day whilst thinking of life and struggling to complete assignments.

August was roaring with enthusiasm, but it is scary because it has only been awhile ago and I have already forgotten what it felt like.

August had many sweltering days and a little bit of watermelon.

Image
a little boy and his bitch

ImageImage Image Image
It made me realize death can be graceful too.

ImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImage
Tomato, Cheese & Conveniently Microwaved Egg Sandwich and Green Tea

Image
I swear..these are the best Oatmeal Raisin Cookies dans le monde entier! It is probably the only recipe I have ever used (and will need to use) anyway. I wanted to make sure that google led me to the right recipe (I have experienced too many letdowns), so I read about 870 comments and took notes of the possible modifications and techniques. Everyone was going crazy and I knew I found the right recipe.
Image
They are so boss and Y O U should make them.

ImageImageFish & Co, Paradigm Mall: Seafood Platter for 2 (or 3.5)

ImageImage
Patty Dinner at Pitstop

ImageImage
Patty Yamcha at Share Tea

ImageCaramelized Onion & Shiitake Cheese Sandwiches

ImageHit Items of 2005(?): I was informed that the trend still lives and I was happy to pass my collection down.

Image
Typical family dinners during the Olympics. We bought take out, reheated some brown rice and watched the badminton finals that night.

Image
The best combination after Kate Middleton and Prince William. Even better with slices of bananas..but that is another story.

Image
Sandfather
Image
After three million years of going back and forth about this, I finally bought myself a UWS. But in a color I least expected.

Image
I’ve loaded it with Lomography ISO 800 film and have been taking pictures in the worst light conditions. I risk having a blank roll, but I keep telling myself I will double expose this roll..what am I doing?! (Sorry for the shit filter choice.)

ImageEverything Salad in Wafu Dressing, Sauteed Shiitake & a Mushroom Omelette.

ImageSpaghetti Grill, Paradigm Mall: Family Plate Buffet (Contributions)

Image
Twinsies

Image
I think we have seasonal green fingers..

Image
We bought this grown plant because the lady at the nursery kept telling us that this Mexican ‘Cili Bom’ it was super spicy (which is freaking true..and we don’t know its English name yet)..but it practically shriveled up and died after I harvested the chili..this thing is a mystery.

Image
I want/need to go somewhere far

ImageVBS: Day One

ImageImageVBS: Day Two Every year I would ask to be placed in the team with the cutest kids (the 5-6 year olds), but that never happens. I guess cuteness is subjective and 8 year olds have a lot to teach me about life.

ImageImageImageImageImageImage
My personalized glittery dinosaur necklace from Joshua (I pretty much bribed him into making me one. He really wanted those chicken drummets.)

ImageImage
Waffle House, Paradigm Mall

ImageVBS: Day Three Kids or adults, some preferences just don’t change. I guess this is what they mean when they put ‘for all ages’ on game boxes.

Image
Nope, lipstick isn’t right for everyone.

Image
My flip flop gave way because somebody decided to wear them on a perilous hike through Bukit Gasing a few days before… I tried to repair them and they lasted for like 5 meters out the door, then I had to spend the next few hours with terrible blood circulation and a slipper tied to my foot.

Image
Chic stance

ImageImage
I met my 3 year old babies and they are so cheeky now. They have grown up so quickly–I say that every year I meet them. In my memories, they are still the cutest babies who I have grown so fond of; and I won’t lie, but it does make me feel a little upset when they don’t remember anything. When I bumped into my class teacher of whom I had not spoken to in 5 years, I finally understood why. As a kid I looked up to him a lot; but when I saw him again, it felt familiar and distant at the same time.

Image
Time can change so many things, but I hope they will always have each other as they grow up.

ImageImage
We spent three days telling kids to behave and I think it took a toll on us.

Image
Meanwhile, we’ll be waiting for VBS 2013!

ImageNot so Thailand, Food Republic, One Utama: (Oily) Pad Thai & Mango Salad (which balanced each other when I mixed the salad into the noodles)

Image
There is one thing you must know..creativity is the most important thing you need if you want to make money.

When Jaya Grocer added these of the rack near the counter, the Caramello & Milk Chocolate flavors were priced at RM2.50, while the more desirable Peppermint ones were RM5.90. As much as I wanted to buy the peppermint flavored ones (I am the biggest fan of peppermint x chocolate), inflation is a terrible thing. Though I did take home a roll of Caramello ones. A few weeks later Caramello was no where to be found, and both Milk Chocolate and Peppermint were priced at RM3.90 (price skimming and price penetration?!). You win some, you lose some.

Marketing is a scary thing..I ran away just in time, because sometimes ignorance is bliss. (I finally bought Peppermint and my sister ate most of it :/)
ImageImage
Curry Mee (Spaghetti)

Image
Ugly Breakfast (Some times I try so hard..tsktsk)

ImageImage

Then somewhere around the end of the month, I dropped my phone and the white screen of death came back to visit.. It has only been a little less than 3 months without Whatsapp and 3G on the go and it feels as if I have been away from the world for the longest time.

Humans are weird. We have been living for years and when something that we didn’t have in the first place is given to us then taken away from us, we can’t live anymore.