T W E N T Y – O N E

by 美儀

(I have been having mixed feelings about this.)

Yesterday, I experienced the worst heartburn in the universe (my life). A little word of advice, never ever eat Dragon-i’s Szechuan “Dan Dan” La Mian in Hot & Sour Soup (四川擔擔麵) or at least never add extra chili oil and drink all the soup.

I stuck my finger down my throat to try and hurl everything up instead of waiting for the burning to get lost, but I started to imagine the taste of dinner coming back up my esophagus and the mess I would have to clean. So I downed cups of water and herbal tea while I tried to google my way back to life whilst complaining on Kakao to Evie & Jred about lunch and discussing about acid and alkaline.

I swear, if I ever migrate, I will buy crates of Ho Yan Hor and bring it with me. They are like the key to anything even if the taste may not be the most pleasing. But they cure anything and everything: sore throat, heatiness, constipation, flu, broken hearts, cancer and now, heartburn.

So if you experience heartburn, screw reading up on what may kill you or help you, just drink Ho Yan Hor; you will live to do the laundry the very next day.

x

스물하나

Mixed feelings. I don’t know. Usually when my birthday is around the corner, I’ll feel excited for no reason. I guess its only normal if I do right? It’s always like this, nobody feels extra jumpy when it is your birthday; only you do. And it took 21 years for me to realize that I’m probably the only one who thinks I’m a little bit more special on the day I was born..because really, all that is happening is that you are turning older.

Anyway, this year, I probably felt it a little bit too early; so when my birthday actually came, it felt like any other ordinary day..but it was nice. Initially, I envisioned myself spending time alone–curled up in bed thinking about life and possibly listening to my sei-ha sei-ha playlist; but instead, I got to spend time over lunch, window shopping, waffles, dinner, coffee and the internet with good company.

Thank you for the wishes, long distance calls, words, gifts, food and most of all, your thoughts and time. I don’t show my feelings well, but I really do value them.

x

Lunch at Pu Tien (莆田), One Utama

After walking away from Lavender (which didn’t allow us to have our own cake there), we decided on an atas Chinese place. After sitting down and looking at the menu, we decided to order in pairs.

It was also like a meet the extended family session for me because I was officially introduced to Coffee’s 13th A and Peipei’s Hock Jeong Guan.

ImageImageImage

ImageImage
(The manager was super kind to open separate orders for us!)

Image
Joejoe brought a slice of his yummy Banana Tart for everyone to try.

Here is a very detailed description I stole from his Facebook:
From bottom: Pate Sucrée, 70% Dark Chocolate Ganache, Chocolate Genoise, Caramel Mousse (Not very Obvious), Cubed Banana, Banana Mousse
Garnish: Banana Slices, Tuile Cones filled with Chocolate Truffle (Self-Made), Cocoa Powder

ImageImageImageImage
So..this intestines dish arrived at our table and we didn’t really have anything to do. So we pulled out our cameras and starting taking pictures of it. After some time, we realized that they brought us the wrong dish..lol

ImageImageImage
Alex & I had Stir-Fried Yam, Stewed Sweet Potato Noodles and Shredded Pork with Fried Buns. But we pretty much kongsi-ed our way through the whole meal with everyone else via barter trade.

ImageImage
Silver Service!

And then when we asked for the cake, they started playing Happy Birthday through the speakers. I started laughing because they had the really old classic Mandarin version going on and the waiter was singing and clapping faster than the song, then it looped to English and continued into some super fast paced upbeat version.


I pulled out my camera because the song was so precious and Joejoe & Chrispy were semi dancing in their seats, but they stopped immediately ):

Image
Alex made this! I don’t know what is its official name, but there are very fancy layers going on and it super nice. The half spheres are passionfruit buttercream and there are gold flakes! :’) *gamtong!!* Nobody has fed me gold before!

Yea..I did such a bad job with the camera..sorry Y_Y

Image
Shortly after the song, the waiter pulled out an Instax Wide and we immediately decided that Pu Tien was the best restaurant in the whole wide world to celebrate birthdays at. I was surprised and kinda happy that I was going to get a polaroid with the cake and everyone that we didn’t even think of pulling out our cameras to get a digital copy.

Image
Anyway, he came back a little later and told me that he was really sorry because he opened the back of the camera to check if there was film (stun) before taking our picture. I don’t know why we didn’t get a second shot, but I told him I still wanted it.

Image
It will be an unforgettable moment alright. If you look closely enough, you will be able to see two dots of light. The top on is the candle and the bottom one is its reflection on the lazy susan.

Image
So we took another group shot after the cake. I look crap here..such is life..

(Joejoe & Alex ‘went to the restrooms’ (car) for a very very long time and came back with a huge gift from Alex & Kenny).

Then we walked around a whole lot more, talked about many things, had waffles and went home.

x

선물!

Image
After the tumbler I got for my 18th birthday cracked, I have been wanting a new tumbler for black coffee for cold mornings. When I walked into Starbucks, I immediately told myself that I had to buy this…I hope it will last a very very very long time. (These things crack easily!)

Image
I asked for a car and I got two. One from my sister and the other from my dad (who didn’t know I already bought it the day before). I have discussed this matter with my brother and we have agreed that these cars may be of more value if they are kept in their packaging..now..I have the best of both worlds!

ImageImageImageImage
This car is flipping awesome. I don’t know if I like it more because it is made of Lego or because it is so yeng.

Image
When I came home from lunch, I saw my sweaty brother coming down the stairs with my old sheets and comforter in his hands. Days before my birthday, he had asked me what I wanted, and my wish came through.

‘We got you 550 thread count!!…you really know how to choose. The solid colors are the most expensive.’

Pots said that my bed looked like a hospital bed, but I don’t care what she says..I flipping love them 😀

ImageImage
From Alex & Kenny: Someone (something ._.) to watch sunrises and sunsets with me. I like how he sits and has a butt ^_^

ImageImage
Earrings from Joejoe. He said he picked them out for me, and judging from that blue carpet-like jacket from Zara he asked me to try the other day, I’m starting to be able to picture the type of style he fancies d: (I really wanted to link it here so that everyone could agree with me that it looked like carpet but I couldn’t find it on their official site :/) (He said he liked the owls best, but I like the half silver and black ones.)

x

Earlier in the year, I remember having a short conversation with a friend. When I asked her how was life going as we were catching up in her car, she told me that she had been spending time thinking of what principles and priorities she would want to set for herself as she was turning 21. What she said made me realize that as much as turning 21 may symbolize adulthood and responsibility, but nothing will change until your perception does.

While I can’t say that I have everything set, I will say that I’m getting (trying to get) there.

Next up is 22 I guess!